Upcoming City Offices Holiday Closures

Upcoming City Offices Holiday Closures

City Offices will be closed on the following days this holiday season:

  • Thursday, November 24:Thanksgiving, trash collection will be on Monday, November 28

  • Friday, November 25: Thanksgiving, trash collection will be on Tuesday, November 29

  • Friday, December 23: Christmas Eve, trash collection will be on Tuesday, December 27

  • Monday, December 26: Christmas, trash collection will be on Wednesday, December 28

  • Monday, January 2, 2023: New Year's Day, trash collection will be on Tuesday, January 3, 2023

City Council

Members of the city council are part-time elected officials who serve four-year terms and can run for re-election as often as they wish. As a legislative body, the council exercises many of the powers given cities through the passage of ordinances and appropriation of money.

The council also has the power to form committees, either standing or special, to aide them in the completion of their work. Standing committees are permanent committees, set up at the beginning of the term of office, and are referred on all matters relating to specific subjects. Special committees are temporary and are set up to handle a special subject and are discharged when the issue is settled. City Council meetings fall on the second Tuesday of the month at 6:30 pm, or following the adjournment of the Greensburg Board of Works. If the meeting date falls on a holiday, then it will be held on the following Wednesday.

To request to be on the City Council agenda, please contact Communications Director Kristen Williams by emailing kwilliams@greensburg.in.gov or call 812-663-3344. 

Chris Stephen, City Attorney : cstephen@stephenlegal.com

City Council Members


Kevin Fleetwood
District 1

Vietta McKenzie

Vietta McKenzie
District 2

Jaime Cain

Jamie Cain
City Council President, District 3


Darrell Poling


Rick Emsweller
District 4